Acapulco Gold

VN:R_U [1.9.22_1171]
Our rating
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
User rating


Acapalco Gold

The very name of Acapulco Gold seeds conjures up romantic images of a bygone era of freewheeling hippies, smugglers and bandits. This Sativa dominant weed originates from the area around the southern Mexican city of Acapulco on the Pacific coast, a city that’s now a popular tourist resort. Some say it’s called ‘Gold’ because of the shimmering colour of its buds while others claim it’s because of its reputation as a premium weed.

Acapulco Gold cannabis has a fruity smell with tones of fresh earth. The flavor is similar with a hint of exotic spices. This is a potent weed and the high is euphoric and cerebral, typical of a Sativa type. Medically, Acapulco Gold weed can help with muscular pain and poor appetite.

Acapulco Gold seeds produce plants that grow to about 80 centimetres indoors although they can stretch much taller outdoors. The leaves are elongated and pale green and the cone-shaped buds are yellow to golden with a coating of glittering crystals. THC levels can be as high as 23 percent.

Indoors, this plant needs to be trained with good results achieved by using the low stress training (LST) method. It will grow happily in soil or hydro and flowering time is from 10 to 11 weeks. You can expect yields of around 500 grams per square metre from Acapulco Gold cannabis.

Outdoors, this plant’s Mexican origins mean that you’ll need to grow it in a sub-tropical climate to get good results. Harvest comes in mid-October in the northern hemisphere.

Acapulco Gold seeds grow into a true heritage strain and one that has a lot of appeal for connoisseurs. It requires some skill to grow but its high potency makes it well worth the effort.

Strain Characteristics:

Indoors or outdoors in a sub-tropical climate
THC Level:
Up to 23%
Flowering Time:
10-11 weeks
Plant Type:
Mid to Late October
Acapulco Sativa
500 gm2
Grow Difficulty:


Acapulco Gold, 3.4 out of 5 based on 48 ratings
Similar Strains

16 comments on Acapulco Gold
  1. ed

    great sticky buds , heavy bearing, nice up buzz, easy to grow,

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +2 (from 2 votes)
  2. Green Man

    Awesome, let us know how you’re getting on or if you have any questions drop us a message here or on our facebook page 🙂

    VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  3. Daniel Mac Donald

    Great site….just starting a grow … I will be back

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  4. PJ Rafter

    I should just mention that the AC I had back in the day, looked quite different to the plant pictured.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  5. PJ Rafter

    Acapulco Gold gets its name from the fact that at maturity the pistils are a striking gold colour and combined with the yellowish, sparkling calyxes, and pale coloured leaves, it gives an overall impression of a golden christmas tree ─ early on in flowering, the large-ish pistils are literally snow white!

    The high, I well remember, came on with a single toke and was crazy soaring, putting my head straight into the stratosphere!

    Its smell, too, was kinda unique ─ a smell of warm toffee is a poor description but it’s all I can come up with!

    It flowered somewhat quicker than Colombian, about 14 – 16 weeks, IIRC!

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  6. Paul Cameron

    Barnes seeds,straight from Holland. Well packaged with information.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 2 votes)
  7. Jimdamick

    This really is a pain of a plant to grow. I have been growing for over 15 years in soil and hydro, and this is one of the hardest plants to grow ever, maybe the hardest. Had bought a ten pack, and regretted it. I finally got to the last seed (didn’t want to waste it)and finally got a good plant, so it is possible. Lot’s of light of course, no heavy nutes and patience as it is closer to 12 weeks, not 9-10. I hope the smoke is worth it.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  8. Tracy Brown

    Wanna start growing my own outdoors. Where can I get Sum Acapulco gold seeds???

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  9. Vicki

    Where to order seeds or weed Acapulco Gold

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -1 (from 1 vote)
  10. Vicki

    This is my all time favorite. Have not had or seen this since around 1969. Just tell me how to get this. And, the best way to go it. Bless you! Vicki from Virginia

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  11. dave

    i bought this strain, in hydro 5.8 to 6.1 ph. nutes at 250 to 600, water temp 68. can anyone tell me why we get a leaf curl in half long ways and down. other stains no problem bit accopolco a pain in my ass. 3rd attempt in hydro.?????????

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: -2 (from 4 votes)
  12. RANDY

    trying to grow my own had cancer …tired of chemicals and booze feel better on weed

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: +6 (from 6 votes)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *